Skip to content

NO GLUTEN-FREE RECIPE!?

July 21, 2011
I recently have come to the realization that I don’t have any gluten-free dessert recipes. :0 SO, I did a little experimenting last night, and made a fantabulous recipe!
Gluten-free Brownie Recipe:
Ingredients: 
  • 3/4 cup rinsed/drained black beans
  • 7 tbsp melted butter (or yogurt, sour cream, any type of oil (except olive oil!), nut butter, banana (but beware, I like it with banana, but many others think it tastes disgusting with it), buttery spread, applesauce, pumpkin, pretty much anything creamy)
  • 2 eggs (or 3 egg whites or 1/2 cup thoroughly blended silken tofu)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350° F.  Thoroughly blend/puree/or whatever black beans until very smooth.  Then mix in butter, eggs, vanilla, maple syrup, and sugar.  Then sift in cocoa, brown rice flour, baking powder and salt and mix in very well.  Lastly, fold in chocolate chips.  Pour brownie batter into a greased 9″ by 9″ pan and bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took 30).
Hey, I have a question for you guys!  Do you have a favorite black bean recipe and if so, what is it?
From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Love black bean brownies! the addition of pumpkin or banana is a cool idea!! I love them in salad or burger form http://lauren-whatlaurenlikes.blogspot.com/2011/07/banging-out-some-black-bean-burgers.html

  2. love these!! beans are so versatile. They make good choco muffins, too!

  3. I’ve been looking for some gluten-free recipes as well (for some of my friends). Thanks for finding this, I’ll have to give it a try!

  4. great looking brownies – I love using black beans in veggie burgers, chili, and tacos!

  5. These brownies look great! I love that their are options for gluten free.
    I made black bean brownies once…they were just ok.

  6. I made these once and almost ate the entire pan in one day. SO good!! I like black bean burgers and I recently just learned how to make your own refried beans which are so much healthier 🙂

  7. Yayy for GF chocolatey recipes! 🙂 I really really need to try these ! I have never attempted recipes with beans.. the thought has always kind of grossed me out, but I am feeling a baking project coming up soon. I will be sure to post a recap and feature of your recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

  8. Those look awesome. I’ve been experimenting more with gluten-free as well. I love black bean burgers and I also love throwing black beans in salads and tacos. SO yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

