Skip to content

Ginger, Lemon Bars

August 20, 2011

I originally made this recipe because I wanted to bake something unique and I happened to have some of these ingredients laying around from previous baking escapades.  It’s seems like a weird combination at first, but trust me, these are reeeeally good!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 stick room temperature butter
  • 1 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup crystallized ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 cup + 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup + 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Cream butter and 1/3 cup of sugar. Then stir in half a teaspoon of the lemon zest, ground ginger, crystallized ginger, and a pinch of salt.  Stir in 1 1/2 cup of flour. Spread over a greased 13″ by 9″ pan and bake 12-15 min. Whisk the eggs, lemon juice, the rest of the sugar, and the rest of the lemon zest, 3 tbsp of flour, and baking powder until thoroughly incorporated.  Pour over crust and bake 15-20 min.

What type of foods do you put ginger in?

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Yum! I love lemon and ginger together. Ginger in hot water is really good :)

  2. This sounds like a great combination!
    I haven’t tried ginger outside of the asian cuisine.

  3. I have never tried ginger in a sweet dish, this sounds great!
    I am like Kristen, haven’t tried it outside of asian dishes

  4. I love ginger in baked goods! Totally bookmarking this recipe :D

  5. I usually use ginger in stir-frys. I have never tried it in baked goods before! And I don’t think I’ve ever used crystallized ginger … I don’t even know where you’d find that! Just the grocery store??

  6. not to be a hater or anything, but im not a huge fan of ginger =/

    • Oh that’s fine! We all have different opinions! I’m a picky eater so I don’t like a lot of things!

  7. Actually sounds like a great combo! I love using ingredients I have laying around the apartment.

  8. I usually old put ginger in asian dishes – interesting idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

