Skip to content

Something Sounds Familiar…

August 16, 2011

Remember the White Chocolate Lime Cookies?   Here’s another interesting flavor combination involving citrus and white chocolate, but with another ingredient:

COCONUT!

Are you up to the challenge?  Although, I personally don’t like coconut, everyone else I know does, and my family once asked me to make a coconut cookie and they ended up loving them!  I also once made these for a bake sale and they sold out quick, I even got several returning customers!  Is that a good enough reason for you to make these? :)

White Chocolate Lemon, Coconut Cookies 

1 3/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick of room temperature butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest from one lemon
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 1/2 cup toasted sweetened coconut flakes (you can toast coconut flakes by putting them in a 350° F oven for 5-8 minutes, or until golden brown)
1/2 white chocolate chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350° F.  In a large bowl, cream together butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, lemon zest and lemon juice.  Sift in flour, baking soda and salt and mix well.  Fold in toasted coconut flakes and white chocolate chips. Butter a baking sheet and drop in cookie dough by 2-tablespoon fulls, about two inches apart.  Bake 10-12 minutes.  It’s okay if they’re a bit soft in the middle when you take them out because they’ll firm up.

 

What’s your favorite food with coconut?

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. I actually don’t eat coconut that much! these look sound amazing though :)

  2. you really are the cookie boss! you always come up with these awesome mixins and different flavourings! I’ve tried coconut and white chocolate before but never with lemon, but it sounds like the perfect combo

  3. I’m not the biggest coconut fan either, but I just made a coconut custard in kabocha! I’m now coconuted out though.

  4. My favorite thing with coconut is a pina colada haha! ;)

  5. I love coconut so these are right up my alley! Reminds me of my dad’s fav cookie which are macadamia coconut. Yum!

  6. Though I don’t like chocolate, I do like white chocolate. Coconut adds a great flavor I’m sure. Yum!

  7. Mmm I love anything with coconut and so many favorite flavors of mine are represented here! I can’t wait to give these a try :)
    P.s. Love your blog, just found it!

  8. yum! great way of incorporating coconut!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

